Trying The Unmanned Incheon Subway Line 2

I first read about Incheon Subway Line 2 on modernseoul blog last week. Yup, even though it’s constructed since 2009, it was my first time knew about this. Haha.

I was excited when I read that Juan is one of the station on the new line I saw some construction near Juan but didn’t know it was for this. I thought they only constructed new exit gate. xD

After checking the other stations, I realized that it saves more time and has less transfer compared to the one I usually take if I take airport line + this line from Incheon Airport. Which is perfect because it started its operation on July 30th and I’d arrive in Korea on August 1st! I found more information and got more excited when I knew that this line using unmanned train. Woahh, cool!

Sooo, I tried this line when I came back. I took airport line to Geomam and transferred to Incheon Subway Line 2. There’s roofed walkway for transfer between the lines. It took around 5 minutes to transfer.

This line is using two-car trainset. I was planning to take the most front or back area, but it was quite crowded and I brought heavy luggage so I gave up. I also couldn’t take any video or picture inside the train. But here are some videos I found in instagram:

The aboveground section after Asiad Stadium station:

#인천2호선 놀이기구아님

A video posted by What is this here to teach me (@sshinapple) on

The train is comfortable and fast. But because it only has 2 cars, the seat is very limited and can be quite packed. Still okay though, compared to other line on its busy hour. Since it’s newly operated, some staffs are seen around the stations to help the passengers.

ecb0a8eb9f89eca084eba9b4ebb6801

the train (source – more pictures on the link)

I only managed to take the route picture on Juan station. ^^v

route

Geomdan Oryu – Wanggil – Geomdan Sageori – Manjeon – Wanjeong – Dokjeong – Geomam (transfer to airport line) – Geombawi – Asiad Stadium – Seo-gu Office – Gajeong – Gajeong Jungang Market – Seongnam – West Woman’s Community Center – Incheon Gajwa – Gajaeul – Juan National Industrial Complex – Juan (transfer to Seoul Metro Line 1) – Citizens Park – Seokbawi Market – Incheon City Hall (transfer to Incheon Metro Line 1) – Seokchon Sageori – Moraenae Market – Mansu – Namdong-gu Office – Incheon Grand Park – Unyeon.

Seongnam will eventually have a free transfer with Seoul Subway Line 7.

The timetable on Juan Station, Geomdan Oryu direction:

timetable

It runs every 3 mins on busy hours and 5-12 mins during normal hours.

This line is not yet included in mobile Subway app that I use, but Naver Map already includes it. Even though when I tried to find a route via mobile app, logo for Incheon Line 2 is still a question mark.

wp-1470159656992.jpg

More info about this line:
http://www.railwaygazette.com/news/news/asia/single-view/view/second-metro-line-opens-in-incheon.html
http://www.railjournal.com/index.php/asia/incheon-opens-metro-line-2.html
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Incheon_Subway_Line_2

Leave a Reply

