(Bad?) Airbnb Experiences

I only used airbnb twice. But both experiences left me with mixed feeling. The first one was when my sister and her friend came. Because I live in Incheon, it’s inefficient if they stay with me during their trip. Most of the places we want to visit were in Seoul. So, I booked a room through airbnb. It’s quite cheap, less than 140.000 KRW for 3 people a week. The room is actually quite small for 3 of us, but not that bad. We can also use the kitchen, which means saving our money.

During the first 2 days, the host was away. He gave me the password to his apartment. It was like we rent the whole apartment. Hahaha. When he finally came back, he was really nice. He doesn’t speak very good English, but we can still understand him. He sometimes cooked for us too. When he knows we don’t eat meat, he cooked fish for us. When my sister’s friend luggage was broken, he gave his old luggage to her. He also lent them Korean traditional clothes, hanbok.

That’s really nice of him, eh? I thought that, too. I don’t know if he was joking or not, but some of his behavior made me uncomfortable. Our host is a middle-aged man, but he tried to hit on my sister’s friend which maybe almost half of his age. Even called her wife… He tried to make us promise him to comeback next time and just stay there without paying. He said that he will drive us somewhere nice. Kinda creepy for me. I felt like he saw us as some kind of girl who are willing to marry a guy just because he is Korean or he has a lot of money. I was kinda conflicted when leaving review on airbnb. As a host, he’s really nice. But as personal, he offended me. LOL.

The second one was when I had an event 2 hours trip away from my home. The problem was it started really early. Even the earliest bus or subway couldn’t make me arrive there on time. I found a room not that far from the place, and it’s cheap. Since I only need a place to sleep, I don’t really care about the facility. The place mentioned it can cater up to 2 people. So, I booked for 2 people. But when me & my friend arrived there, the bed was actually only for 1 person. I felt sorry for my friend because it was my idea to stay there. We ended up cram ourselves on the bed though. Not to mention it was smell of cigarette when we first enter the room.

But it’s not the worst part yet. It was the first time for the host to receive a guest on airbnb, and he can’t speak English at all. So, we convinced him multiple timesย  that nothing will happen to his room and we only need a place to sleep. In my broken Korean of course, which sometimes took me a lot of time to write. And his informal speech and misspelling made it worse. What’s annoying, he really wanted to know what’s our agenda there. Curiosity kills the cat, dude.

And my guess, he didn’t tell the room owner that he’s re-renting his room to other person. He told us to tell the room owner that we’re his friends if she asks… And you know what, the room owner stays on upper floor and speaks perfect English. We met her because the host asks her to explain about the heater and everything. Crazy guy.ย  Haha.

After these 2 kinda bad experiences, I feel like I prefer the normal guesthouse/hostel rather than airbnb. I don’t waste my time contacting the host about every little thing. And I don’t have any obligation to socialize with the host. *introvert problem* But well, maybe it’s just my bad luck since my priority was on the budget. Haha.

2 thoughts on “(Bad?) Airbnb Experiences

  1. gw uda make airbnb 6x, belum ada yang bermasalah :))
    kalau mesen airbnb, enaknya yang ga tinggal bareng host trus cari yang reputasinya uda tinggi dan review2nya bagus. gw juga ga berani mesen kalau orangnya baru mulai jadi host dan ga punya review sama sekali.

    • haha, iya sih mit. lagi apes kayaknya.
      yang kedua bener-bener karena pertimbangan lokasi itu yang paling deket dan cuma semalem. taunya hostnya ribet banget xD

Leave a Reply

