Biking across 3 Islands: Sindo, Sido, and Modo in Incheon

at the ferry

I love biking. I also love quietness. So, when I read about this, I was tempted to do the same. The idea of enjoying quiet islands by riding bike sold me in. It’s also a chance for me to explore Incheon more. Because even though I live in Incheon it seems like I know about Seoul much more than Incheon. Haha.

Sindo, Sido, and Modo are 3 small islands in Incheon that connected by bridge. They’re also known as Three Brother Islands (삼형제 섬). To go to these islands, I need to take a ferry from Sammok Wharf (삼목선착장) in Yeongjeongdo, the island where Incheon Airport is. To go there, I took airport line subway (AREX) to Unseo Station, went to Exit 1 and took Bus #307.

This is Sammok Wharf.

Sammok Wharf

Sammok Wharf

Map of the islands

map

map

The schedule to Sindo and Jangbongdo. There are 12 times a day.

schedule

schedule

– From Sammok Wharf to Sindo or Jangbongdo, every hour between 07.10 and 18.10
– To Sammok Wharf from Sindo, every hour between 07.30 and 18.30
– To Sammok Wharf from Jangbongdo, every hour between 07.00 and 18.00

You can see the ticket price at the left side. The one way ticket to Sindo is 2000 KRW for adults and 1300 KRW for kids. If you go as a group > 12 people, you can get cheaper price. And there’s additional fee if you bring your own bike or car.

To buy the ticket, write passenger list on this form and then go to the queue. Give the form and your ID card to the staff. And after that you can just pay for the ticket. They usually ask if you bring car or not. That’s all.

 After that go to the queue for the ferry, or just directly go to the ferry if it has arrived. There are 2 different ferries to Jangbongdo and Sindo, so you need to make sure that you take the right ferry.
The trip from Sammok Wharf to Sindo is less than 15 minutes. But it was very interesting because there were so many seagulls behind our ferry. The passengers kept feeding shrimp snack (새우깡) to the seagulls by throwing it. It’s cute. Some passengers also tried to feed it directly. It was awesome but kinda scary. lol.

The gate of Sindo.

sindo gate

sindo gate

I asked for the guide book in Sindo Wharf. And then rent a bike in bike rent nearby for 1 day price (10000 KRW). It’s also available for hourly rent (3500 KRW/hour). I chose the one with a basket and put my bag there. I need to left my ID card there.

bike rent

bike rent

I was nervous when I just started my bike trip for 10 minutes but I already found an uphill road. I failed to reach the end of the road by bicycle. lol. When people saw me, I acted like I was lost. An ahjussi asked me where I wanted to go and then told me to follow him and 2 other ahjummas. Haha. So I followed him. The road in Sindo was very quiet. I can count the number of car I saw with my own fingers. Some times I stopped by to take picture. And then I realized, I couldn’t see ahjussi anymore. I arrived in an intersection, and because one of the road seemed easier and more interesting, I went to that side. I saw a park with pavillion there. I followed the road, but the road was heading to smaller road. I couldn’t identify the place in the map. You know, I’m not good in map reading. I was really getting lost this time. Haha. After trying to figure out by myself, I ended up asking an ahjussi nearby. But I still couldn’t figure it out and finally opened the map from my phone. I followed the map, and found the right road. Yeayyy. I saw some bikers too, so I was sure it’s the right one.

And finally I saw the bridge connecting Sindo & Sido. It was pretty cool.

My destination in Sido is Sugi Beach. It’s difficult to park the bike on beach sand. The sand kept eating the bike upstand. lol. Fortunately, i found a board so i can park the bike easily. The beach is different from the beach I usually found in my hometown. A lot of big stones at the beach. What interesting is I saw sea birds there! The long-legs sea birds, i don’t know the bird name. And I can see Manisan Mt. in Ganghwado from the beach. I want to go there too next time, hehe.

There are some groups of ahjumma and ahjussi in this beach. Some of them even built the tent for camping. When I walked back to the main road, I can hear some of them talking about me. They’re wondering if I felt hot, maybe because they saw me using scarf. lol. I just acted like I didn’t understand. Different reaction from before when an ahjussi looking and smiling at me for coming there, I was happily greeting him. Just ask me directly ahjumma.😉

After that I continued my trip to Modo Island. There are interesting statues near the bridge connecting Sido and Modo. Again, I met another ahjussi asking me if I go there by myself and planned to go to all the islands. He told me to enjoy the trip. Hehe, thanks ahjussi! Well, I guess I looked very striking there. I’m a foreigner but not from the western countries. I only wore casual clothes, not special clothes for bike riding. So I understand if people looking at me strangely. Just imagine a bule riding a bike in some quiet village in Indonesia. How will people there looking at her? Kkkk.

My destination in Modo is Baemikkumi Sculpture Art. The entrance fee is 2000 KRW. The sculptures here are kinda …. erotic. lol. I’ve seen the pictures from the internet before so I wasn’t shocked. I was more shocked by parents that bring their kids to this park. Hahaha. It’s awkward for me. The park is in seaside. It’s nice to see beach again. I can see airplanes flying really close to the island for several times. (Airport is just across the island)

After that, I rode my bike back to Sindo Wharf and returned the bike. I bought ticket to Sammok Wharf for 2000 KRW. When I queued for ferry, an ahjussi asking where’s my bike. I think he’s the ahjussi I met in Sugi Beach. I told him I returned the bike. And he complimented me for coming there by myself even though I’m a foreigner and woman. He even said baksu (applause). 아저시, 오버하지 마세요 #digetokahjussi. On the ferry, I opened my shrimp snack that I coincidentally bought before coming to the islands without knowing about the seagulls. I fed it to the seagulls and … myself. Well, it’s tasty. Haha.

shrimp snack

shrimp snack

When I check it, I rode the bike for around 20 km. That’s the longest distance I’ve ever had. But because I never rarely exercise, my whole body was aching after that. xD In short, it was a nice getaway.

One thought on “Biking across 3 Islands: Sindo, Sido, and Modo in Incheon

  1. […] Untuk mengelilingi Udo ada beberapa cara. Pertama, cara gampang, bisa naik shuttle bus (per 30 menit) atau tour bus (all day ticket 5000 KRW). Kedua, bisa nyewa motor, ATV, atau sepeda. Banyak banget penyewaan di sekitar Udo. Harganya juga rata-rata sama antara satu dan yang lainnya. Saya nyewa sepeda  dengan harga 10000 KRW/3 jam. Kata yang punya, dalam 3 jam itu kita bisa muterin pulau sambil moto-moto, mampir ke restoran buat makan juga cukup. *kecanduan setelah naek sepeda keliling 3 pulau* […]

Leave a Reply

