Enjoying Night View of Han River: Banpo Bridge Rainbow Fountain & Fireworks!

2015-05-08 20.10.58

“Banpodaegyo (Bridge) is a two-tiered bridge over the Hangang (River) that features the Moonlight Rainbow Fountain, the world’s longest bridge fountain recognized by the Guinness Book of World Records) with 380 water jets and a dazzling array of multi-colored lights.”

Hangang or Han River is a major river in Korea. Some public parks, which have their own charms, can be found along the line. One place that I really want to visit since I first arrived in Korea is Banpo Bridge Rainbow Fountain. But because of that one classic reason: busy and it’s not operated during winter, I can only visit it recently. You can read more about it here.

April, May & June Schedule
• Weekday ⇒ 12:00, 20:00, 21:00
• Weekend ⇒ 12:00, 17:00, 20:00, 20:30, 21:00, 21:30

July & August Schedule
• Weekday ⇒ 12:00, 20:00, 21:00
• Weekend ⇒ 12:00, 17:00, 19:30, 20:00, 20:30, 21:00, 21:30

September & October Schedule
• Weekday ⇒ 12:00, 20:00, 21:00
• Weekend ⇒ 12:00, 17:00, 20:00, 20:30, 21:00, 21:30

※ Schedule is subject to change.
※ Show lasts about 15 minutes.

To go there, I took Subway Line 7 and get off at Express Bus Terminal Station. I planned to see 8pm show, but I arrived at the station much earlier (around 6pm). So, I went to the Express Bus Terminal Underground Shopping Center first. LOL. It’s quite big and you can find Korean latest fashion items with reasonable price. I was enjoying the shopping center too much that when I checked my phone, It was around 7.40pm. I hurriedly left the shopping center for Banpo Hangang Park.

Fortunately, I arrived at Banpo Hangang Park when the Rainbow Fountain show just had started. The show was pretty, but kinda monotone for almost 20 minute show. The 3 songs played as background music helped so much. The first 2 songs were ballad which made the fountain looked more dramatic despite the gloomy and sad mood from the songs. The last song was SNSD’s Gee, which brightened up the mood. Hahaha. And when I was enjoying it, suddenly there was an explosion sound. I looked at where the sound came from, and it turned out that it was fireworks!

There was fireworks show at the river. It was suuuper pretty, I really like it. And I noticed some cruise ships near the fireworks. Ah, I remember that Trazy has this Fireworks Live Cruise offer. And rainbow fountain view from the cruise seems better, too. Maybe I should try it next time xD. I don’t know whether they have the fireworks show everyday or not. I went there on Friday, but I previously read that the ferry cruise + fireworks is only on Saturday… So, I don’t know… Overall, I enjoyed the show (thanks to the fireworks!) xD

4 thoughts on “Enjoying Night View of Han River: Banpo Bridge Rainbow Fountain & Fireworks!

  1. hi…. may I know specificaally your way from subway exit to get the entrance to Banpo Hangang Park to catch the Banpo Water Fountain Show ? Did you go there on foot ?looking forward for your reply. thank you…

    • Hi Yuni,
      I followed the direction here
      Express Bus Terminal Station (Seoul Subway Line 3,7 or 9), Exit 8-1.
      – Go straight for 250m, and turn right at the Express Bus Terminal 4-way intersection.
      – Continue going straight for 400m and cross the street at the crosswalk.
      – Go straight through the underpass to arrive at the park.
      Follow this map

Leave a Reply

