Cube Studio & Cafe

SAM_4927

안녕하세요! Hi! Halooo!

If you’re following me on instagram, you maybe already now that I’m currently in South Korea. Yup, I arrived last week. I’m here to attend graduate school. There are a lot of stories about it, but I’ll talk about it later.😉

I’m a big fan of Korean boy band BEAST, especially member Lee Gikwang. If you can read hangeul, you can read on my profile picture before this current picture that I was holding a cheering towel with Lee Gikwang name written on it.

taken on Beautiful Show in Indonesia, 2012

BEAST is managed by Cube Entertainment. And if you’re following k-pop or BEAST or Cube, you should already know that Cube has Cube Studio and Cafe (큐브스튜디오) which opens for public. I really really want to go to that place. I live in Incheon and Cube Cafe is in Seoul. Incheon-Seoul is around 1 hour by car. But because I took public transportation (bus + subway) + walk, It took almost 2 hour to reach Cube Cafe from my place. lol. And what’s crazier is that was my first experience of taking bus and subway in Korea. I did it all by myself. //proud//

If you’re in Korea, forget google maps, you better look at this Naver Map. It gives detailed direction, expected time, and fee information. It’s written in Korean, but you could easily navigate it. If you need translation, open google translate. lol.

So, from my university back gate (인하대후문) i took bus 511 to Juan Station (주안역). Don’t forget to tap the transportation card when you enter and exit the bus. You can also pay by cash, but it’s a little bit more expensive than using card (~200 KRW more). I then took the subway to Onsu Station (온수역), and transferred to Line 7 (Green). If you need subway map, you can download it here or click this picture below to get larger image.

Subway Map

Subway Map

I took off at Cheongdam Station (청담역) which is 21 stations away from Onsu Station. I go to exit 13. For the direction / how to get to cube cafe, I read it from a blog here.

direction

direction

I just walked until I saw Hotel Riviera then turned left.

Hotel Riviera

Hotel Riviera

Then walked again, that time I saw Hotel Prima. If you watch BEAST Showtime, it was the place on the first episode where Junhyung was waiting and then picked up by Doojoon, Gikwang, and Dongwoon. Do you know that kind of feeling I got when passing this place? lol.

this place, hotel prima!

this place, hotel prima!

Walked again until I can find Baskin Robins across the street.

BR

BR

Crossed the street, walked through the alley until intersection and then turned right. Cube Studio & Cafe is not that far from the intersection. I can easily recognize the place because there are fans in front of the cafe.

Cube Cafe

Cube Cafe

But unfortunately, when I went there, Cube Cafe was closed for public because of 4Minute Sohyun’s birthday party. Only invited fans are allowed to attend. I didn’t know about this. I’ve should known earlier that Cube Cafe has a twitter account that gives update about opening/closing time, merchandise, event, etc. I missed that info.

But even though it’s closed, I saw BEAST Dongwoon went out from Cube Cafe. Too bad, he closed his face with hands. I can recognize him from his height and hair color. And I also saw BTOB Changseob. He was walking to the training center which is just some buildings away and then to Cube Cafe.

Dongwoon entering the van

It was around 4 PM and Cube Cafe will open again for public at 7 PM. Because it’s too long, i just walked around there. I bought donuts at Dunkin Donuts nearby. It’s in front of JYP Entertainment Building. Yes, Cube Cafe and JYP is really close. JYP is veryyy quiet. There are big posters of the artists shown. It gives me old cinema vibe. lol.

JYP Entertainment

JYP Entertainment

While eating, I saw some people waiting in front of a building. And then I realized that that building is Cube Entertainment Office. I passed the building while walking to Cube Cafe but I didn’t realize it.

Cube Entertainment

Later, I  also waited in front of the building. Suddenly APink Namjoo walked from the building, followed by a camera. I think she is recording for APink showtime. She’s so kind, She asked us fans to love APink and waved her hand.

I then walked to the main street, thinking of going back. But because I found public wi-fi (yah, it’s quite difficult to find public wifi), I stopped for awhile. Talked to my friend and tweeted. And you know who was coming? APink visual, Son Naeun. She walked from the alley, also followed by a camera. I recorded it with my digicam. We were really close. I hope I’m not getting recorded on her camera. lol. But if you see a small girl using scarf on APink Showtime, you know who she is. I followed Naeun crossing the street and watched her taking a taxi.

After that, I went back to Incheon. Kinda sad that Cube Cafe were closed that time, but I promise I’ll visit it again. And I hope I can see my bb Gikwang. T.T

2 thoughts on “Cube Studio & Cafe

Leave a Reply

